Race of the Last Quater

The end of the year is almost here, and with it the looming threat of all those unachieved goals, unkept resolutions, and approaching deadlines. In my case, these are finishing Peril of King (PoK) and starting my new book, working less and living more, and finishing a story for the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize. The good news is, I have a plan to get all of this, well the work part, done. The bad news is, it’s about the get quite hectic (bye bye work less live more resolution; we’ll try again next year).

I will be starting the rewrite of PoK and the writing of my new book in the first week of October, which means I should be done rewriting by late November (if I stay as disciplined as I hope to be), and using Stephen King’s no more than the length of a season rule, finish the new book sometime in December. The idea is to start steady, use the NaNoWriMo November ginger to to do most of the heavy lifting, and then settle into the momentum and finish up.  For the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize, I am currently caught between rewriting an old story that has never been seen and writing a new one, but I will  pick an option before the week runs out; writing or rewriting should start next week as well.

This, is the very broad plan. The more detailed one involes which days of the week and what hours of the day will be dedicated to each project, but I know it is subject to change a lot so I won’t go into it here. The most important thing is to get the work done, and I hope to give myself a nice present for doing just that (a bigger present if  I manage to do even more than I plan to 🙂 ).  Anyway, it’s time to strap in, because between all of my writing, my job, my life, and everything else in between, the last quater of 2015 is going to be quite a ride.

Leave a Reply

