Thankful

Thanksgiving is not a traditional holiday in Nigeria, but being thankful is something Nigerians like to do, a lot. Like seriously, we thank God for everything, from birthdays, to weddings, to promotions, to graduations etc. Heck, if you’re Christian and Catholic, you’re likely going to have a thankgiving Sunday after every major event in your life…lol.

So, in this same Nigerian spirit, even though we are not actually celebrating thanksgiving, I am thankful to God for this year. It was not a perfect year, but it was a year of lessons (learnt a lot about my writing, and learnt how to play the guitar). It was a year of rejections (didn’t get a scholarship I had invested time and energy applying for), but also a year of growth (got a promotion I wasn’t expecting). One thing that it definitely is not, is a year of regret, and for this I am grateful.

There are still a lot of things that I wanted to do in this year, which I no longer can, but I am thankful for the things I did, and I can end the year knowing that I’ve grown in some very important ways.

Last but not the least, I am thankful to everyone who has stopped by this blog and liked it. I am thankful that I could write something you love, and I hope to do better in the coming year.

Now, to all of my clan, friends, and family actually celebrating Thanksgiving, Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

