Finger Style & Lessons So Far

I started playing the guitar this year, and it has been a very painful and fun journey. My fingers still hurt when I play for too long but I am able to ingore the pain now.

This weekend, I started on finger style basics, and the plan is to learn how to play Ed Sheeran’s Photograph in finger style by the end of March next year (it seems like a long time but I know it’s not).

To recap on what I learnt this year. Well, I learnt the main major and minor chords: A, D, C, G, E, Am, Dm, Em, and of course the dreaded F (which is not so dreadful afterall).

I learnt some major 7th chords: A7, C7, E7, B7, G7.

I recently learnt some suspended chords: Asus2, Asus4, Dsus2, Dsus4.

I learnt how to change the chords and play in time. My chord changes are still far from perfect, and I am still trying to strum without missing strings, but I am sure all of these will get better with time.

I learnt how to tune a guitar (this is sort of the first thing you learn), though now I cheat with an app (the things technology does to us).

I learnt how to play Kelly Clarkson’s Breakaway (it’s still not perfect, but you can sing along so it’s all good). I also learnt how to play Adele’s Hello (I had no choice, the world was practically Hello crazy 🙂 ).

There are likely other things I learnt, but these are the lessons that stuck. So there you have it, what I learnt in 2015.

If you’re looking for an excellent beginners course, just head on to Justin Guitar; his site and course have been a great help to me and I’m sure you’ll benefit a lot from them, too.

Till next time, stay happy and be well.

Seasons Greetings and Happy Holidays!

 

 

Leave a Reply

