The Writer Season 4

April was as hectic as I had expected it to be. I expected that I would not really get around to my blog because of all the work, but I did not think I would abandon it for a whole month, writing goals and all 🙈.

Anyway, even though I have been away, I didn’t totally abandon my writing duties, I promise; and good things have happened, good things indeed.

What have I been up to?

Well, sometime in March (on the 27th to be precise) I stumbled on this tweet from @TheNakedConvos that had somehow been retweeted onto my timeline. It was about a writing competition called The Writer: an elimination style online reality competition where 12 writers would battle it out in the space of a month with one finally emerging as the winner. It sounded like a good idea, and I only needed a 300 word flash fiction to enter. On the very last day (March 31st), I typed up a story from the beginnings of another story that hadn’t taken form and sent in my entry. Nearly one month after, I got an email saying I had been shortlisted as one of the 12 finalists. Yay!

So, this month, I will be battling it out with 11 other writers from around the country for the title of The Writer. The plan is to, hopefully, make it all the way to the end, and yes, win :). Whatever the outcome, I’m sure it will be a fun experience.

If I do make it all the way, the good news is I’m going to get to write 4 stories in a month!

The (well, let me not say bad news) is that May just got a whole lot more hectic, so I’d probably be on another blogging hiatus this month and part of the next. Still, you can follow my progress and the competition on http://thewriter.thenakedconvos.com/

I hope you enjoy it.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

